Skip to main content

News Releases

Corporate & Community Social Responsibility Award Winners Announced!

Nov 7, 2012

OTTAWA, Nov. 7, 2012 /CNW/ - The Fifth Annual Canada Conference on Corporate & Community Social Responsibility (CCSR) has concluded with an awards gala honouring the best in CCSR.

"A sincere thank you goes out to all the attendees, speakers, organizers, and partners of this year's conference," said Algonquin College President Kent MacDonald. "I would also like to offer my personal congratulations to all award recipients and recognize their achievements in the field of corporate and community social responsibility. Their efforts to create a more sustainable future improves the lives of all Canadians, and we are proud to highlight their contributions through this conference."

The Co-operators Group Limited are this year's recipient of the Corporate Social Responsibility (Corporate Award). "We are truly thrilled to be receiving the Corporate Social Responsibility award this year," said Kathy Bardswick, President and CEO of The Co-operators. "As a Canadian co-operative, our communities are so important to us, and we strive to be a catalyst for a sustainable society. It is a deep honour to be recognized in this way."

United Way Ottawa took home the Corporate Social Responsibility (NGO) award. "I am honoured to accept this award on behalf of the many volunteers, community partners and donors that support United Way's work in the community," said Michael Allen, President and Chief Executive Officer, United Way Ottawa. "We work together to help tackle some of our city's most pressing social problems and we do so with a shared vision — to make our community measurably better. We thank the CCSR Conference organizers for this prestigious recognition."

The CCSR Awards recognize outstanding contribution and excellence by individuals and corporations in carrying out and following the core values of Social Responsibility. The Award recipients have demonstrated an ongoing and unwavering commitment to the achievement and creation of shared value for their organizations and the community.

Award Recipient Sponsoring Institution
Corporate Social Responsibility (Corporate) The Co-operators Group Limited Algonquin College
Corporate Social Responsibility (NGO) United Way Ottawa Algonquin College
Community Social Responsibility Amir A. Dossal Carleton University
Social Innovation Enterprise The Natural Step Canada University of Ottawa
Social Entrepreneur Fiona Sampson Canadian Youth Business Foundation
Youth Social Entrepreneur 14 Recipients (see below) Red River College

2012 Youth Social Entrepreneur Award - List of Award Recipients

Individuals       Organizations
1. Mandi Duhamel     1. Youth Futures
2. Mahlet Seifu     2. Engineers Without Borders
3. Laura Schnurr     3. Operation Come Home
4. Dayna Chicoine      4. The Door Youth Centre
5. Gwennaelle Madiba     5. YOUCAN
6. Renata Sharkey and Ingrid Daniel    
7. Suzanne Newing and Lea Restivo    
8. Jason Collard    
9. Jeremy Dias

The youth awards are given to young individuals engaged in the community and organizations focusing on supporting youth initiatives.

Algonquin College is proud to be a Co-Founder of the Canada Conference on Corporate & Community Social Responsibility, alongside the University of Waterloo, the University of Ottawa, Carleton University, and Red River College.

About Algonquin College -
Algonquin College of Applied Arts and Technology is located in the nation's capital and the Ottawa Valley, and is the largest college in Eastern Ontario, with 18,000 full-time and 35,000 part-time students in more than 170 programs. Algonquin is a leader in the integration of technology into learning, and is strongly committed to student success.

SOURCE: The Co-operators

For further information:

Phil Gaudreau
Communications Officer, Algonquin College

Back to news releases

Find us on:

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube